See our guide for applying for a CSCS Labourer Card or watch the video below:

Video by CITB

Card Requirements

You will need to have passed the CITB Health, safety and environment test within the last 2 years.

You can apply for this card if you have completed the QCF Level 1/SCQF Level 4 Award in Health and Safety in a Construction Environment. This is a lifetime qualification that only needs to be completed once and will be accepted in 5 years’ time when renewing your Labourer card.

To find out how to take this qualification contact your local college of further education, training centre or Jobcentre Plus. You can see a full list of awarding bodies offering this qualification here. They will advise you about training and assessment availability, pricing and whether funding is available.  Click on these links to view Training Centres approved by Cskills Awards, City & Guilds and Pearson.


Alternative Qualifications

CSCS also accepts alternative courses to the Level 1 Award. These are shown below.

Important note: Alternatives to the Level 1 Award may not be lifetime qualifications. This could mean that the learner will be required to complete a refresher course every 3-5 years before they can renew their Labourer card.

Awarding Organisation Course Name Validity of Course Website Link
CITB Site Safety Plus one day 5 Years Click here
Drilling and Sawing Association DSA Health and Safety Awareness Course 3 Years Click here
IOSH Working Safely (classroom assessed)

3 Years


Click here
JTJ Workplace Solutions JTJ Introduction to Construction Course ? Click here
Priestman Associates Principles of Construction Site Health Lifetime course Click here
Education and Skills Partnership ESP Foundation into Construction Certificates ? No website
REHIS – Royal Environmental Health Institute REHIS – Elementary Health and Safety Course Life time course Click here
Rushmoor Borough Council Rushmoor Borough Council Health and Safety in a Construction Environment L1 Life time course Click here
SPA – Safety Pass Aliance SPA – Core Construction Course Life Time course Click here
BESA BESA – Site Operative Safety Course 5 years Click here


This card is valid for five years.


Go to the full Card Types list