Skip Content

Industrial Strategy

At the beginning of 2015 the Construction Leadership Council (CLC) announced via the Industrial Strategy: Construction 2025, that industry, including trade associations, contractors, clients and government, should specify and promote card schemes displaying the CSCS logo with no equivalents accepted. This is known as the One Industry Logo action.

The CLC listed a number of requirements necessary for a card scheme to qualify for the CSCS logo, which include:

  • Agreeing appropriate qualifications for each occupation
  • Setting a minimum standard for skilled occupations at NVQ Level 2
  • Introducing smart technology by 2020.

Full details of the CLC’s requirements were set out to industry in early 2015.

In November 2017 the CLC issued an update to the requirements, which can be read here. This update concerned:

  • The issuing of cards for construction occupations only
  • The maintenance of apprenticeship standards
  • Guidance for anyone setting up a new card scheme.

The objective of the One Industry Logo action is to provide clients, employers and contractors with a consistent means of recognising that an individual has achieved the agreed standard of qualification and skill in the occupation they are working in and to give the industry confidence in that brand.

SInce 2015, a number of other card schemes, across a range of construction sectors, have commited to the CLC requirements and so display the CSCS logo on their cards. A full list of these schemes and their contact details can be found here.

Whether you are a CSCS cardholder, a card scheme operator or an employer, you are likely to be affected by these changes. To find out more visit our CLC Frequently Asked Questions or talk to your employer or training provider.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.