Skip Content

CSCS accepts recognised apprenticeships

Published: December 9, 2020

The Construction Leadership Council (CLC) has updated its requirements related to the acceptance of apprenticeships by CSCS and its partner card schemes.

The newly updated requirement from the CLC reads:

Nationally recognised apprenticeships in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland will be accepted as meeting the minimum standard. This includes:

  • Relevant English Apprenticeship approved under Specification for Apprenticeship Standards in England (Pre 2020) or by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education (2014 onwards);
  • Relevant Welsh Apprenticeships approved under Specification for Apprenticeship Standards in Wales;
  • Relevant Scottish Modern Apprenticeships approved by the Apprenticeship Approvals Group.

CSCS cards have traditionally been issued on the basis of achieving an N/SVQ level 2 or higher. However, many newer apprenticeships have dropped the requirement to attain an N/SVQ which meant that CSCS could not recognise them.

This newly updated requirement issued by the CLC now allows CSCS to accept nationally recognised apprenticeships from all four UK nations, whether or not they include an N/SVQ.

This will ensure that apprentices on more recently created apprenticeships courses (such as Trailblazers) will be eligible for a CSCS Apprentice card and, once they have completed the apprenticeship, the relevant Skilled CSCS card.

Full details of apprenticeships can be found here